ESA logo

About the Section
The ESA Biogeosciences section was founded in 2003. Our goal is to promote research and education in studies of the influence of biology on the chemistry of the surface of the Earth, the processing of energy and materials in Earth's ecosystems, and the impact of humans on Earth system function. The Section acts as a liaison between investigators, societies, and other groups interested in these subjects.

Current Officers (2012-2013)
Chair: Joshua Schimel, University of California, Santa Barbara
Secretary: Jennie McLaren, University of Texas, El Paso

Past Officers
Whendee Silver, University of California, Berkeley
Kate Buckeridge, University of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Groffman, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Daniela Cusack, University of California, Los Angeles
Adrien Finzi, Boston University
Matt Wallenstein, Colorado State University
Alan Townsend, University of Colorado
Emily Bernhardt, Duke University
Lars Hedin, Princeton University
Christine Goodale, Cornell University

Section Bylaws (click to view in Adobe PDF format)

Section Listserv
You can subscribe by sending an email to: requesting addition. Then you can submit your postings to These postings are moderated and your message will be posted within one week of submission.

This website was originally designed by Jen Morse, Duke University. The current webmaster is Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi, USGS Canyonlands Research Station.