Honorary Membership Award

Honorary Membership in the Society is given to a distinguished ecologist who has made exceptional contributions to ecology and whose principal residence and site of ecological research are outside of The United States and Canada. Up to three awards may be made in any one year until a total of 20 living Honorary Members is reached.

Full Name
Last Name
ESA Bulletin
1985Heinrich WalterWalterGermany, University of Hohenheim
1985Eduardo Hugo RapaportRapaportArgentina, Fundacion Bariloche
1985Thomas Richard EdmundEdmund
1985Sir Thomas Richard EdmundEdmundEngland, University of Oxford
1986Jaroslav HrbácekHrbácekCzechozlovakia, Academy of Sciences
1986Makoto NumataNumataJapan, Chiba University
1987Ernesto MedinaMedinaVenezuela, Institute for Scientific Research
1987Ramón MargalefMargalefSpain, University of Barcelona
1988José Sarukhán KermesKermesNational University of Mexico
1988Leonid Efimovich RodinRodinU.S.S.R.
1990Juan Carlos CastillaCastillaChile, Las Cruces Marine Station
1992Syunro UtidaUtidaLinkJapan, Kyoto University
1993Enrique H. BucherBucherArgentina, University of Cordoba
1995Zbigniew Maciej GliwiczGliwiczPoland, Warsaw University 
1996Stephan UlfstrandUlfstrandSweden, Uppsala University
1997J. Philip GrimeGrimeUnited Kingdom, Sheffield University
1998Henri DecampsDecampsLinkFrance, Toulouse
1999John Robert LewisLewisLinkUnited Kingdom
2000Norman Owen-SmithOwen-SmithLinkUniversity of Witwatersrand, South Africa
2001Madhav GadgilGadgilLinkIndia
2002Carlos HerreraHerreraLinkUniversity of Seville, Spain
2005Erkki HaukiojaHaukiojaLinkUniversity of Turku, Finland
2006Suzanne MiltonMiltonLinkUniversity of Stellenbosh, South Africa
2007Marilyn BallBallLinkAustralian National University, Australia
2011Marten SchefferSchefferLinkWageningen University, Netherlands
2012Richard ShineShineLinkUniversity of Sydney, Australia
2013Christian KörnerKörnerUniversity of Basel, Switzerland
Posted in Awards Tagged with:

Have something to add?