Secretaries and Treasurers

Originally, ESA members elected a President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer, so this was a combined role. A separate office of Treasurer was created in 1939, but was gradually supplanted by the Business Manager office, created in 1952/54.

“For the first 22 years of its existence, ESA had a combination secretary-treasurer. Recognizing that a degree of continuity was essential to the administration of a young society, these officers were elected for more than one year. Forrest Shreve (1916-1919) and A. O. Weese (1920-1930) carried the Society through its formative (and crucial) years. Shelford (1938) states, “The society was guided and its policies given continuity for the first 16 years of its existence through the unbroken services of these two men whose enthusiasm kept life and progress in the organization while maintaining an unusual harmony because of their kindly and cordial personalities.”

In 1938, the offices were divided, with Orlando Park choosing to remain as secretary and Stanley Cain elected treasurer. This arrangement has persisted to the present, with three- to five-year terms, usually staggered, being the general rule.”
The Ecological Society of America: Historical Data and Some Preliminary Analyses, by Bob Burgess, ca. 1976

YearOfficeFull NameLast NameBulletin Link
1916-19SecForrest ShreveShreve
1920-30SecAsa Orrin WeeseWeese
1931SecAlfred Edwards EmersonEmerson
1932-33SecAaron Raymond KienholzKienholz
1934-35SecArthur Gibson VestalVestal
1936-38SecOrlando ParkPark
1939-41SecWilliam John Hamilton Jr.Hamilton
1942-47SecWilliam Albert DreyerDreyer
1948-50SecWilliam Augustus CastleCastle
1951-53SecMurray Fife BuellBuell
1954-57SecJohn Frederick ReedReed
1958-61SecJohn Edward CantlonCantlon
1962-64SecPaul Guy PearsonPearson
1965-70SecStanley Irving AuerbachAuerbach
1970SecWilliam Albert NieringNiering
1971-75SecJ. Frank McCormickMcCormick
1975-78SecEdward John KormondyKormondy
1978-81SecPaul Gillan RisserRisser
1981-85SecRobert Patrick McIntoshMcIntosh
1986-91SecHazel Roach DelcourtDelcourt
1992-95SecRobert Krug PeetPeet
1995-98SecNancy J. HuntlyHuntly
1998-2001SecLisa J. GraumlichGraumlich
2001-04SecJill Spann BaronBaron
2004-10SecDavid William InouyeInouye
2010-16SecCharles D. CanhamCanham
1939-40TresStanley Adair CainCain
1941-42TresRoyal Eastman ShanksShanks
1943TresStanley Adair CainCain
1944-49TresHenry John OostingOosting
1950TresWilliam Theodore PenfoundPenfound
1951-54TresFrederick Harold TestTest
1955-57TresAlexander Carlton HodsonHodson
1957-59TresJohn Stiles DendyDendy
1959-63TresKirby Lee HaysHays
1964-66TresRalph Walter KeltingKelting
1967-69TresWilliam Clark AshbyAshby
1969-72TresShelby Delos GerkingGerking
1972-75TresForest Walden StearnsStearns
1975-77TresPaul Guy PearsonPearson
1977-81TresLawrence Carroll BlissBliss
1981-84TresWilliam A. ReinersReiners
1984-87TresPaul Alfred ColinvauxColinvaux
1987-90TresRebecca Reyburn SharitzSharitz
1990-95TresLouis Frank PitelkaPitelka
Posted in Officers Tagged with: , ,

Have something to add?