Leadership Meetings

For a look at past leadership meeting topics and summaries, click here.


2015 SEEDS Leadership Meeting – North East, MD

This year’s SEEDS Leadership Meeting –  celebrating its 10th Anniversary, was held this past May 6-10 at NorthBay Adventure Camp in North East, Maryland. Twenty three students from across the US, as well as ESA President, Dr. David Inouye, met around the theme, Pollination Science, Policy and Communication. Students were able to discover amazing career paths around the science of pollination, and tour areas of Maryland and Washington, DC. With the help of Dr. Sam Droege and numerous other partners from the USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, the US Forest Service and the University of Maryland – we explored pollination science, from data to policy, and everything that falls in-between! Students also visited ESA HQ and picked up some communications strategies from Liza Lester, ESA’s Communications Officer!

Check out the educational outreach ideas generated by participants and the ESA Pollinator Toolkit originally developed by the Science Office now residing on the SEEDS site.

Read the blog about the Leadership Meeting.


Leadership Meeting Information

Held annually, the Leadership Meeting is an opportunity for SEEDS student leaders to engage in a dialogue about the connections between science and society. The meeting provides a venue for SEEDS participants to develop 21st century skills and understanding in communications, policy, community outreach and education, rounding out their experience as young scientists.

The Leadership Meeting was an extension of the SEEDS Undergraduate Research Fellowship program and since 2007 grew to include invited SEEDS chapter leaders and other students recognized for their leadership potential.  ESA Governing Board members have joined us as guest speakers and since 2008, we have been delighted to have the participation and support of ESA Presidents who have graciously set time in their busy schedules to join the students.


SEEDS Leadership Meetings are made possible with the generous support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, National Science Foundation, the Mitsubishi Corporation Foundation for the Americas, and ESA member donations.