E. Lucy Braun Award Daniel Laughlin Northern Arizona University

E. Lucy Braun was an eminent plant ecologist and the first woman president of the Ecological Society of America. Besides describing and mapping the deciduous forest regions of eastern North America, Lucy Braun served as a dedicated teacher and role model to her students. To honor her, this award is presented to a student for the outstanding poster presentation at the Society's annual meeting.

The 2006 winner of the E. Lucy Braun Award is Daniel Laughlin for his poster "Climate-induced temporal variation in diversity -productivity relationships." This work is based on Daniel's doctoral research at Northern Arizona University under the supervision of Margaret Moore of the School of Forestry. Judges commented that Daniel's research focusing on temporal variation on the plant productivity-diversity relationship was outstanding, and that the research was pursued in a very creative way. One judge noted that Daniel seized the opportunity to use existing data on plant productivity and diversity, collected over 14 years, to evaluate the importance of temporally variable environments. Judges who spoke to Daniel commented that he answered questions with knowledge and authority, and that they were impressed by Daniel's recognition of the limitations of his data and his forthrightness in discussing them.



The goal of the project was to evaluate the influence of precipitation in different years on the nature of the productivity–diversity relationship . Daniel established clear predictions of his expectations for the nature of the relationship in wet years and in dry years. Specifically, he predicted that competitive exclusion and recruitment limitation would only be detected in productive (i.e., wet) years. The results suggested that climatic variation can affect species interactions in semi-arid plant communities, and that climate-induced changes to the productivity–diversity relationship can change the interpretation of diversity models from year to year. Daniel received his M.S. in Ecology from Pennsylvania State University in 2002, and his B.S. in Biology from Calvin College in 1999.

Christopher F. Sacchi, Buell-Braun subcommittee Chair

Buell-Braun subcommittee members:

David Holway, Andrew McCall, Nancy Eyster-Smith