

Levin

The **Eminent Ecologist Award** is given to a senior ecologist in recognition of an outstanding body of ecological work or of sustained ecological contributions of extraordinary merit. Nominees may be from any country and need not be ESA members. Recipients receive lifetime, active membership in the Society. This

year's recipient is Simon Levin.



Pacala

The **Robert H. MacArthur Award** is given biannually to an established ecologist in mid-career for meritorious contributions to ecology, in the expectation of continued outstanding

ecological research. Nominees may be from any country and need not be ESA members. The recipient is invited to prepare an address for presentation at the annual meeting of the Ecological Society of America and for publication in *Ecology.* This year's winner is **Stephen W. Pacala**.



Bierbaum

The **Distinguished Service Citation** is given annually to recognize long and distinguished service to the Ecological Society of America, to the larger scientific community, and to the larger purpose of ecology in the public welfare. This year's recipient is **Rosina Bierbaum**.

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Deborah Goldberg (Chair)

Student Awards (E. Lucy Braun and Murray F. Buell) Subcommittee:

Andy McCall (Chair); Jennifer Lau, Deborah Marr, Chris Sacchi

W.S. Cooper Award Subcommittee:

Jack Williams (Chair); Paul Fine, Louis Iverson, Jason McLachlan, David Ackerly, Ines Ibanez, Emily Heyerdahl

Honorary Member Award Subcommittee:

Indy Burke (Chair); Jayne Belnap, Denise Breitburg, DeniseDearing, Deborah Clark, Steven Hamburg, Janet Lanza, JohnTerborgh, Richard Wetzler, Sandy Tartowski

MacArthur Award Subcommittee:

Alan Hastings (Chair); James Brown, Gary Mittelbach, Claudia Neuhauser, Gaius Shaver, Fiorenza Micheli, Monica Turner

George Mercer Award Subcommittee:

Jonathan Levine (Chair); Priyanga Amarasekare, Robert Jackson, John Klironomos, Sharon Strauss, Mary Ruckleshaus, Timothy Wootton

Eugene P. Odum Education Award Subcommittee:

Carmen R. Cid (Chair); Stephanie Bestelmeyer, Julie A. Reynolds, Kenneth Klemow, Kathy Shea, Carlos de la Rosa

Sustainability Science Award Subcommittee:

Ruth DeFries (Chair); William Clark, Ron Carroll, Eleanor Sterling

Eminent Ecologist Award and Distinguished Service Citation

Subcommittee:

Robert Holt, (Chair); Peter Groffman, Tom Whitham, Mark Bertness, Felicia Keesing, Katharine Suding, Michel Loreau