ESA AWARDS

E. Lucy Braun, an eminent plant ecologist and one of the charter members of the Society, studied and mapped the deciduous forest regions of eastern North America and described them in her classic book, "The Deciduous Forests of Eastern North America." To honor her, The E.

Lucy Braun Award for Excellence in Ecology is given



Bauman

to a student for the most outstanding poster presentation at the ESA Annual Meeting. The winner of the Braun award is Jenise M. Bauman of Miami University for her poster entitled Environmental variables as predictors for ectomycorrhizal species in American chestnut (Castanea dentata) mine reclamation.

Murray F. Buell had a long and distinguished record of service and accomplishment in the Ecological Society of America. Among other things, he ascribed great importance to the participation of students in meetings and to excellence in the presentation of papers. To honor



his selfless dedication to the younger generation of ecologists, The Murray F. **Buell Award for Excellence in Ecology** is given to a student for the outstanding oral paper presented at the ESA Annual Meeting. The winner of the Buell award is Divya Uma of Georgetown University for her presentation entitled Chemical

mediation of prey recognition by spider-hunting wasps.

The William Skinner Cooper Award is given to honor an outstanding contributor to the fields of geobotany, physiographic ecology, plant succession, or the distribution of plants along environmental gradients, the fields in which W. S. Cooper worked. The award is for a single contribution in a scientific publication (singly or multiply authored). Nominees need not be ESA members and can be of any nationality. This year's recipients are Jacquelyn Gill, Stephen T. Jackson, K. Lininger, and Guy S. Robinson for their paper Pleistocene megafaunal collapse, novel plant communities, and enhanced fire regimes.













Duffy



Hall

The Mercer Award is given for an outstanding ecological research paper published within the past two years by a younger researcher (the lead author of the paper must be 40 years of age or younger at the time of publication). If the award is given for a paper with multiple authors, all authors will receive a certificate, and those 40 years of age or younger at the time of publication will share the monetary prize. Nominees may be from any country and need not be ESA members. This year's recipients are Meghan Duffy and Spencer Hall for their paper Selective predation and rapid evolution can jointly dampen effects

of parasites on Daphnia populations.



Klemow

The Eugene P. Odum Education Award recognizes an ecologist for outstanding work in ecology education. Through teaching, outreach, and mentoring activities, recipients of this award have demonstrated their ability to relate basic ecological principles to human affairs. This year's recipient is **Kenneth Klemow**.

The Sustainability Science Award is given to the authors of a scholarly work that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences. One of the most pressing challenges facing humanity is the sustainability of important ecological, social, and cultural processes in the face of changes in the forces that shape ecosystems and regions. This ESA award is for a single scholarly contribution (book, book chapter, or peer-reviewed journal article) published in the last 5 years. Nominees need not be ESA members and can be of any age, nationality, or place of residence. The 2010 recipients are M. Lindegren, C. Möllmann, A. Nielsen, and N. **Stenseth** for their paper *Preventing the collapse of the Baltic* cod stock through an ecosystem-based management approach.









Lindegren Möllmann

Nielsen Stenseth