## 2009 Sustainability Science Award

## B. L. Turner and coauthors

The recipients of the Sustainability Science Award are B.L. Turner of Arizona State University and his 25 coauthors on the Special Feature on Land Change Science, published in 2007 by the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. The award recognizes research results that provide scientific foundations for sustainable management, link human and ecological systems, and advance sustainability science. In a synthesis paper and five original research papers, the special feature explores central factors that contribute to global change, including deforestation, land fragmentation, ecological regime shifts, and the loss of ecosystem services. Turner's synthesis lays out the advances and challenges in the field of land change science.

